Save The Date 2019

The EAAA is delighted to be returning to the beautiful surroundings of Tattersalls, Newmarket for the 2019 Core Topics Meeting on the 7th and 8th of November 2019.

Details to follow in the Spring


If you are an anaesthetist in the East of England and would like to be involved with the meeting in any way please contact

For all trade enquiries please contact


Harold Youngman Prize Winners 2018

25 Submissions were received this year, 13 shortlisted for oral presentation and 12 for poster presentation.

Presentations list 2018

The 2018 judges were:

Oral Prize – Manasi Bhagwat (chair of judges), Rajesh Dumpala & Paul Rolfe

Poster Prize – Siddharth Adyanthaya, Gagan Kohli & Tanya Smith



First Prize & Harold Youngman Medal

Sarah Chetcuti  An intensive care unit’s report on development of an in-situ simulation programme and its impact on human factors and ergonomics in the workplace


Second Prize

Romit Samanta Romit-Samanta-Decanting-SaltDecanting the Salt out of the (Data) Swamp


Third Prize

Henry O’Connor Difficult Airway Video Experience


Highly Commended

Alice Webb Capnography monitoring in recovery


Poster Prize

Sam Polding Transfusion thresholds in adult critically ill patients

Harold Youngman Prize Winners 2017

21 Submissions were received this year, 11 shortlisted for oral presentation and 10 for poster presentation.

Presentations List 2017

The 2017 judges were:

Oral Prize – Mike Hudspith, Janet Pickett & Mark Stoker (chair of judges)

Poster Prize – Emma Chan, Anita Patil & Chris Sharpe



First Prize & Harold Youngman Medal

Katharina Kohler & Daniel Stubbs Measures of anaesthetic dosing in elective orthopaedic patients


Second Prize

Susan Stevenson The Ideal Body Weight Calculator (IBW) A Completed Audit Cycle


Third Prize

Basil Nourallah Improving pre-operative peripheral nerve block provision in neck of femur fracture patients


Poster Prize

Peter Cooke Audit Adherence to the Magnificent Seven Care Bundle on Antimicrobial usage

Harold Youngman Prize Winners 2016

28 Submissions were received this year. Oral prize judges were Ian Driver, Ipswich and John Deloughry, Peterborough. Poster prize judges were Jonathan Payne, Norwich and Kate Berkshire, Peterborough.


First Prize & Harold Youngman Medal

Mark Plummer, Clinical Fellow, NCCU, CUHFT



Second Prize

Joel Chin, Specialist Trainee, Luton & Dunstable NHS Trust



Third Prize

S Samad, Core Trainee, QEH, King’s Lynn



Highly Commended (oral)

Sophie Kelly, Medical Student, Cambridge University



Poster Prize Winner

Anna Hutton, Specialist Trainee, NNUH



Highly Commended (poster)

Emma Lang, Medical Student, Cambridge University





Trade Sponsorship and Support 2016

The East Anglian Association of Anaesthetists is extremely grateful to the companies that provide sponsorship and support to our educational event. It is through this ongoing support that our non-profit making organisation can continue to stage the Core Topics Meeting and provide an annual prize for trainees in the East of England. The companies supporting our event are listed below :

Company Representative(s)
Ambu Zuzanna Cikorska & Ben Greenwood
Baxter Michael Little & Kirsty Mitchell
Bbraun Keith Derwent, Tanya Cooper & Mark Jessop
CSL Behring Ann McDonnell
Fannin Jo Pilsworth
GE Healthcare Joshua Chater
Intersurgical Paul Wasmuth
MDU Nina Vaseer, Gary Pagram & Ruth Burgoin
MSD Tremayne Rutherford
Pajunk Jeremy Langley
Pentland Medical Jamie Munro
Proact Medical Julian Wilkinson
Smiths Medical Geraldine Fox, Adam Murby & Dawn Grainger
Vygon Tom Martin & Mike Saracino
Wesleyan Medical Peter Shanley & Vic Mortlock

Harold Youngman Prize Winners 2015

This year 20 entries were received for the Harold Youngman Prize. Lots of hard work was put in by all the entries but congratulations must go to our winners:


First Prize & The Harold Youngman Medal 

Dr Kim Wild

Service improvement project: Moving from intraoperative IV to preoperative oral simple analgesia in day surgery.


Second Prize 

Dr Katie Allan

Day procedure survey: Self care post discharge at NNUH.


Third Prize

Dr S King

Unforeseen benefits of introducing an enhanced recovery programme for elective caesarean delivery on the timing of day of discharge following emergency caesarean delivery.


Poster Prize

Dr Georgia Hacke

Anaphylaxis under general anaesthesia in Addenbrooke’s Hospital


The Harold Youngman Prize is open to all medical students, FY doctors and non-consultant grade anaesthetists in the East of England. If you have an anaesthesia related project please consider entering it. If you are a college tutor or educational supervisor look out for projects your trainees are conducting – with a little encouragement they could be winning the 2016 prize.

Details of the competition will be released in due course but in the meantime put the meeting dates in your diary – 10th & 11th November 2016 – and start thinking about what work you can submit. Any enquiries relating to the Harold Youngman Prize can be directed to