Harold Youngman Prize Winners 2015

This year 20 entries were received for the Harold Youngman Prize. Lots of hard work was put in by all the entries but congratulations must go to our winners:


First Prize & The Harold Youngman Medal 

Dr Kim Wild

Service improvement project: Moving from intraoperative IV to preoperative oral simple analgesia in day surgery.


Second Prize 

Dr Katie Allan

Day procedure survey: Self care post discharge at NNUH.


Third Prize

Dr S King

Unforeseen benefits of introducing an enhanced recovery programme for elective caesarean delivery on the timing of day of discharge following emergency caesarean delivery.


Poster Prize

Dr Georgia Hacke

Anaphylaxis under general anaesthesia in Addenbrooke’s Hospital


The Harold Youngman Prize is open to all medical students, FY doctors and non-consultant grade anaesthetists in the East of England. If you have an anaesthesia related project please consider entering it. If you are a college tutor or educational supervisor look out for projects your trainees are conducting – with a little encouragement they could be winning the 2016 prize.

Details of the competition will be released in due course but in the meantime put the meeting dates in your diary – 10th & 11th November 2016 – and start thinking about what work you can submit. Any enquiries relating to the Harold Youngman Prize can be directed to famila.alagarsamy@addenbrookes.nhs.uk